Light Pole 189/365

By: allanahphoto

Jul 09 2010

Category: Nelson, People

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.1
Focal Length:15.02mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:u1010,S1010

Today I went to the funeral of a very fiesty lady who lived every day until her last few. She had been a NZ record holder at swimming, travelled the world and was still very involved in local organisations at 84 years old. Last week she hit this light pole by the library going at only 5-10km an hour but hit her head. She drove herself to hospital and while there fell again, hitting her head again and now she has gone.

I read a reading at her funeral and stood for her- telling the people how, when I met her in the swimming baths she would always do a handstand- just to prove that even with a heart bi-pass, she still could.

I hope that I have that much energy when I am in my eighties.

Leave a Reply

