Unique Iochroma Cyaneum 362/365

By: allanahphoto

Dec 28 2010

Category: Garden

2 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:iPhone 4

This tree/plant has been in my front garden for as long as I can remember and I have been living here, on and off, for over fifty years. Every year I cut it back. I sort of remember my father saying it was in the tobacco family as it has like a light, soft fur on the leaves, like tobacco. I remember singing, ‘i-a-croma-tuberosa’ as a kid but I have no idea how that name got into my head.

It is the only one I have ever seen growing anywhere and people often stop to take photos of it because of its beauty and uniqueness.

Can anyone help me name it? Or ever seen one elsewhere?

2 comments on “Unique Iochroma Cyaneum 362/365”

  1. Sorry I can’t help – but it is very beautiful

  2. I think we have an answer from http://twitter.com/KiwiNomad08 (Margaret Brown) via Twitter.

    http://www.tradewindsfruit.com/violet_churcu.htm

    I am impressed. I have always wanted to know. I wonder if I can find a seed and get another plant going.


Leave a Reply

